What are the requirements (if any) in the State of New Mexico for reporting newly hired and re-hired employees?

Product: Sage MAS 90 and MAS 200 ERP
Module: Payroll
Version: 4.30
CID Reference: NA

 

Federal and State law requires that employers report newly hired and re-hired employees to the New Mexico New Hires Directory.  New hire reporting is intended to speed up the child support income withholding order process, expedite collection of child support from parents who change jobs frequently, and quickly locate alleged fathers/non-custodial parents to help in establishing paternity and child support orders. 

Federal and State laws contain strict guidelines for the use of new hire reporting information. New Mexico's child support computer system matches new hire information against open child support cases to locate alleged fathers/non-custodial parents to establish paternity and child support orders, and enforce existing orders. Once these matches are done, the new hire information is sent to the National Directory of New Hires and is utilized by child support agencies nationwide.

New hire information can also be used by states to help detect and prevent fraudulent payments to recipients of unemployment insurance, workers compensation, and welfare benefits.  The use of this information is intended to provide financial support for New Mexico families and a reduction in welfare and unemployment insurance costs. 

All employers in the State of New Mexico must report their new hires.  No one is exempt from this law.  Employers are required to report the following employees:

New employees: Employers must report all employees who reside or work in the State of New Mexico to whom the employer anticipates paying earnings. Employees should be reported even if they work only one day and are terminated (prior to the employer fulfilling the new hire reporting requirement).

Re-hires or Re-called employees: Employers must report re-hires, or employees who return to work after being laid off, furloughed, separated, granted a leave without pay, or terminated from employment. Employers must also report any employee who remains on the payroll during a break in service or gap in pay, and then returns to work. This includes teachers, substitutes, seasonal workers, etc.

Temporary employees: Temporary agencies are responsible for reporting any employee who they hire to report for an assignment. Employees need to be reported only once; they do not need to be re-reported each time they report to a new client. They do need to be reported as a re-hire if the worker has a break in service or gap in wages from your company.

Note - The Directory welcomes Independent Contractor reports (Form 1099 vendors), however, the law does not require employers to report them. The IRS provides strict guidelines on whether an individual is in fact an Independent Contractor or an employee. If you have questions regarding this guideline, please contact the IRS.

 

If you have never reported new hires, you should begin by reporting any new employees hired within the last 180 days. You should then continue reporting any new hires regularly.  Employers are required to report new hires within 20 days of their hire date.  If you submit reports magnetically or electronically, you should submit the reports in two monthly transmissions not more than 16 days apart. 

Generally speaking, filing the report on the 15th and last day of the month will meet this requirement (whether filing paper reports or electronically).  If you are processing payroll semi-monthly or bi-weekly, you can process this report after running your payroll and be in compliance with the reporting requirements.

More information on New Mexico New Hire Reporting is available on the State's New Hire's Directory website.

You can conveniently complete the New Mexico New Hires Report using the State eFiling and Reporting module which was added to MAS 90/200 in version 4.30!

Copyright © 2017 Sunrisenm. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.